Animal Justice Party Targets Federal Marginal Seats

Actor and pioneering animal rights activist Lynda Stoner is one of 54 candidates standing for the Animal Justice Party in the coming federal election.

Ms Stoner will stand for the Senate in New South Wales. In addition to contesting the Senate the AJP will stand around 42 lower house candidates. Sixty five per cent of AJP candidates are women.

National AJP President Professor Steve Garlick said today, “With a double dissolution election, the AJP has a reasonable chance of picking up the last Senate seat in NSW and in Victoria and by targeting marginal lower house seats we aim to influence the outcome of the entire election.”

Professor Garlick stated the AJP aimed to stop animal cruelty. “We need to restore the balance between the human, natural and animal worlds and to examine the potential impact on animals of government actions at all levels,” he said.

“There are a growing number of political parties throughout the world focusing on animal welfare in countries ranging from the UK, Germany, Spain, Italy and Portugal to Turkey and Cyprus”. After the Netherlands, the AJP is the second of the world’s political parties for animals to have a representative elected to one of its nation’s parliaments.

“Since we had a representative elected to the NSW Legislative Council last year, interest in the Party has grown considerably. Our membership is now six times what it was when we competed in our first national election in 2013. We expect our primary vote at the July 2 election to reflect a similar increase”.

Professor Garlick said the Turnbull Government regularly demonstrated its lack of concern about cruelty to animals. “Since taking over the prime minister’s position Mr Turnbull’s government has dramatically increased the appalling live trade industry, given marketing support to the violent commercial kangaroo killing industry, allowed export of greyhound dogs for overseas racing and gambling industries and removed protection for flying foxes,” he said.

All parties in the Commonwealth Parliament have failed animals.

“The Turnbull Government’s Budget gives scant attention to animal welfare, except to say it has become a state responsibility, although we know that many decisions made by the Commonwealth may impact negatively on the lives of animals”.

“In the current era of multi-lateral free trade agreements, the Commonwealth’s abrogation of responsibility for animal welfare is simply unacceptable. Commonwealth Government responsibilities in animal welfare have now been watered down to mean virtually nothing. This has to change”.

23 May 2016                    List of endorsed candidates, electorates, and contacts overleaf

NSW contact:  Anna Hall, NSW Convenor, 0466 506 404

Victorian contact: Bruce Poon, Victorian Convenor, 0400 248 226

National contact: Professor Steve Garlick, President, 0428 880 564

 

AJP Candidates 2016 Federal Election

State Electorate Name Email

Senate

NSW

Senate #1 Lynda Stoner lynda@animal-lib.org.au
Senate #2 Gordon Elkington gordon.elkington@gmail.com

VIC

Senate #1 Bruce Poon bruce.poon.ajp@gmail.com
Senate #2 Jacqui Edgecombe jacqui.edgecombe@ajpvic.org.au

WA

Senate #1 Katrina Love animaljusticepartywa@gmail.com
Senate #2 Alicia Sutton animaljusticepartywa@gmail.com

SA

Senate #1 Tania Noble Taniamnoble.ajp@outlook.com
  Senate #2 Emma Breagan emmabreagan@yahoo.com.au

ACT

Senate #1 Deborah Field debfield@animaljusticeparty.org
Senate #2 Jessica Montagne cccadmin@grapevine.com.au

QLD

Senate #1 Paul Bevan paulgbevan@gmail.com
Senate #2 Zade Watson ajp.qld.bne@gmail.com

TAS

Senate #1 Karen Bevis tas@animaljusticeparty.org
Senate #2 Alison Baker Alison.baker@anytimefitness.com.au

Lower

 House

NSW

Eden Monaro Frankie Seymour frankie.seymour-animaljustice@iinet.net.au
Hughes Ellie Robertson ellie100@gmail.com
Page Anna Ludvick annaclarejapan@gmail.com
Richmond Angela Pollard apollard@lis.net.au
Banks Roy Barnes senrabyor@hotmail.com
Blue Mountains Hal Ginges gingeses@bigpond.net.au
Lyndsay Deborah Blundell compassion14@outlook.com
Grayndler Emma Hurst  emma@animal-lib.org.au
 Sydney  Mark Berriman  mfberriman@gmail.com

VIC

Corangamite Andy Meddick andy.meddick.ajp@gmail.com
Corio Jamie Overend jamieoverend@gmail.com
Bendigo Ruth Parramore ruth.parramore@bigpond.com
Casey Kristin Bacon kristin.bacon@ajpvic.org.au
Latrobe Leah Folloni leah.folloni@ajpvic.org.au
McMillan Jennifer McAdam jenny.mcadam.ajp@gmail.com
Batman Caitlin Evans caitlin_evans@hotmail.com
Calwell Megan Searls megazoid77@hotmail.com
Melbourne Miranda Smith miranda.smith@ajpvic.org.au
Scullin John Matlen john.matlen.ajp@gmail.com
Wills Camille Kennedy-Sydow camillesydow@gmail.com
Aston Rosemary Lavin rosemary.lavin@ajpvic.org.au
Deakin Vannessa Brown vanessa.browne@ajpvic.org.au
Jaga Jaga Nathan Schram nathan.schram@ajpvic.org.au
Chisholm Nyree Walshe nyree.walshe.ajp@gmail.com
Higgins Eleonora Gullone eleonora.gullone.ajp@gmail.com
Goldstein Naren Chellappah naren.chellappah.ajp@gmail.com
Melbourne Ports Rob Smyth robert.smyth@bluereef.com.au
McEwan Cathy Vaina cathy@fastat.com.au
Flinders Ben Wild ben.wild@ajpvic.org.au
Hotham Helen Jeges helen@jeges.org
Issacs Elizabeth Johnston elizabethjohnston2008@hotmail.com
Maribyrnong Fiona McRostie fiona.mcrostie@ajpvic.org.au
Menzies Anthony Hulbert tony.hulbert.ajp@gmail.com
Bruce Doug Leith douglasleith@hotmail.com
Dunkley Tyson Jack jack-diamond91@hotmail.com
Holt Louella Scanu louella.scanu@gmail.com

SA

Makin Zarina Greenburg Zarina.greenberg@gmail.com
Sturt Geoff Russell Geoffrey.russell@gmail.com
Adelaide Matt Tidswell Tidswell15@hotmail.com
Hindmarsh Alyssa Liu beryllau@hotmail.com
Port Adelaide Janine Clipstone kimjanik@chariot.net.au
Boothby Evelyn Carroll tomandge@bigpond.net.au